Google AdWords

This was the first time I have used Google AdWords.  Actually, it was the first time I had even heard of Google AdWords and I was pleasantly surprised to discover it is quite easy to use.  The step-by-step enrollment process was quick and painless.  The hardest part was writing an ad to promote my blog and then deciding on clever, specific keywords.  The ad I finally settled on is as follows:

MSU blogger discusses the hype &
stigma of New Media Marketing
stacydanna.wordpress.com

I tried to incorporate keywords into my ad however I found it difficult due to the limited amount of text characters allowed.  I used Google’s Keyword Search Tool to help me decide which keywords would be most applicable to my blog, as well as which keywords would generate the most impressions and, hopefully, clicks.  The keywords I bid on were:

  • Stacy Danna
  • first time MSU blogger
  • internet marketing
  • Michigan State University
  • Stacy Danna’s New Media Blog
  • New Media Drivers License
  • New Media Inauguration
  • New Media Marketing
  • Social Networking sites
  • hype of new media marketing
  • stigma of new media marketing

After activating my account I began searching for my keywords on Google but was disappointed when my ad did not appear…EVER!  This was the case for several days and I am sure the reason is two-fold.  First, I set my account up with only a $50 budget and, second, I am sure my keywords are too general and not nearly as specific as they need to be.  However, with practice I am sure I will become a keyword “guru” and will have much more success in the future.  Unfortunately, because I can not get my ad to appear on Google I cannot include a screenshot in this post (although I will keep trying and include it if it finally appears).

My overall impression of Google AdWords is that it is a quick, easy and effective way for small businesses to target their consumers.  It is also inexpensive, flexible and allows users to change their ad and/or keywords whenever they want and as many times as they want.

~ by dannasta on January 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
