Google…More Than Just a Search Engine

Up until a week ago I thought Google was just a search engine…that’s it!  The only time I use is when I want to look something up but don’t know, or can’t remember, the correct web address.  Or, when I want to know if there is a certain type of store in my area.  Who knew that Google actually offers several free applications to anyone willing to try them out including, Gmail; Google Analytics; Google Earth; Google Groups; Google Calendar and, my favorite, Google Reader.

Google ReaderGoogle Reader allows you to read news articles from various sources all in one place…you no longer need to spend time surfing cnn.com, wsj.com and freep.com…you can have them all fed into your Google Reader profile.  When you add your favorite websites to your profile,  Google Reader automatically pulls in the top news stories from those sites.

Additionally, the What’s in “Your Stuff”? feature allows you to create and share articles with your friends.  You can share items you have read, share anything from around the web by using the Note in Reader bookmarklet or just share your thoughts using the Notes feature.

Another feature worth mentioning is the “Starred Items” feature which allows you to save your favorite articles, in case you want to go back and read them later…no more searching the archives.

One feature I could do without is the “Trends” feature.  I don’t have a need to know what types of articles I have read in the last day, week, or month, how many items I have shared or starred articles or what time of day I tend to read the articles on my profile.  A person who enjoys statistics would probably find this feature more useful than an advertising person like myself.

Overall, I think this is a useful feature and I will probably keep using it, at least in the short-term.

~ by dannasta on January 23, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
